Two Weeks on Linux

Android Photography, Canon

Compared to what I had with Adobe product, it is like hell… And I don’t want to bash the work done by the community, I just want to state what is it actually.

I have the firm impression that Darktable is actually destroying my images. I can’t get details out without breaking every pixels in blurred zones. It is impossible to lower high light zone without destroying, again. Briefly, you can’t do anything without destroying the whole picture.

Those guys at Adobe’s office are doing a great job, and they’re working on it every day instead of those guys from the free software community who are working on it when they have time for.

This is why they bring back in each update the same old filters that no one care and no one use anymore. This is why we can’t work on files that uses more than 8 bits. Well finally this is why I am loosing interest in working on my pictures.

But in the mean time I decided to try something new. I did transfer some pic to my Google Photo cloud and then tried to work on some of those from Snapseed, a photo retouching program for mobiles and tablets. And the result gave me more fun than what I could get with GIMP/Darktable.

Here are few example. Pictures have been taken with my old Canon but processed in Snapseed.

image

image

13 thoughts on “Two Weeks on Linux

  1. Mario, I really respect Linux (especially Debian), but still use Windows because there is no good photo software for Linux. I’m not using any Adobe software for a long time after I started using Nikon Capture NX, which is just perfect for me. I tried to use Wine to work with Nikon software on Linux, but it didn’t work properly. I heard about proprietary photo software for Linux (like Corel), but read a lot of bad reviews…

    Like

    1. Same here, I tried Corel but it is a pain… For me, Now I refuse to pay 15$/month for PS. The Canadians dollars got lower recently so, the price for PS has raised from 130$/year to 180$/year. I am not the richest man here so, I had to make choice. Still, Gimp/Darktable isn’t a choice yet.

      I am gonna give a try to Nikon Software. They dont talk about any price. Did you paid a lot for?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nikon Capture NX 2 is not available anymore, the price was +-145 euro, but I still use it (enough for me). Now you can use Capture NX-D for free, but it’s not so good and both versions are working with Nikon Raw (Nef) files.

        Like

  2. I have had great success with Snapseed and it is a lot of fun especially with the built in WiFi in the Fuji’s so I can instantly upload any image I want to my iPhone/iPad an edit it on the fly with Snapseed then send it off to Instagram or FB or Twitter. I have been using onOne Photo Suite 9 as a plugin in Adobe Lightroom for a while now but I also use NIK products such as Silver EFEX Pro and Color EFEX Pro as plugins through Lightroom from time to time with really pleasing results. Snapseed was initially a NIK product until Google bought NIK.

    Like

  3. Je n’ai rien d’un photographe professionnel, Mario… mais ces photos sont magnifiques. Rien est plus important que l’oeil de celui qui capture. C’est lui qui compose, c’est lui qui donne de l’intensité, de l’émotion là où une autre personne ne l’aurait jamais vue. Pour le matériel utilisé je suis trop novice pour émettre un avis 😉

    Like

  4. I agree with your thoughts on no subscriptions for PS and LR Mario I recently bought LR outright instead after saving my funds.
    I did use Corel Paint Shop Pro a couple of years ago and it was ok as a standin… and before that GIMP.
    I’m interested to read your experiences here. How is the new blog going?
    Loving your photography as always 😀

    Like

What do you think?

